Incognito Mode on Chromebook Private Web Browsing

Incognito Mode on a Chromebook allows you to browse the web privately.

 Incognito Mode on Chromebook Private Web BrowsingYou can open an incognito window on your computer and mobile devices to prevent Chrome from saving your browsing history. You can switch between an incognito window and any regular windows you have open. You’ll only be in incognito mode when you’re using the incognito window. If you don’t want Google Chrome to save a record of what you visit and download, you can browse the web privately in Incognito mode.

How do you browse in private on a Chromebook?

Going incognito doesn’t hide your browsing from your employer, your internet service provider, or the websites you visit.” Meaning that if someone goes to your computer and checks your browser history or cache files from the sites you’ve visited, that person should indeed see nothing. Alternatively referred to as Private Browsing, InPrivate Browsing, Private Window and informally as porn mode, Incognito mode is a setting that prevents Internet history from being stored. For example, when you visit any web page, any text, pictures, and cookies loaded in the page is all stored on your computer.

 

Why Use Icognito Mode on a Chromebook?

Incognito on a Chromebook is a mode that opens a new window where you can browse the Internet in private without Chrome saving the sites you visit. You can switch between an incognito window and any regular Chrome browsing windows you have open. You’ll only be in incognito mode when you’re using the incognito window.

  • Chrome won’t save your browsing history, cookies and site data, or information entered in forms.
  • Files you download and bookmarks you create will be kept.
  • Your activity isn’t hidden from websites you visit, your employer or school, or your internet service provider.

Be careful. Incognito mode on a Chromebook only prevents Chrome from saving your site visit activity. It won’t stop other sources from seeing your browsing activity, including:

  • Your internet service provider
  • Your employer (if you’re using a work computer)
  • The websites you visit themselves

 

How to start Incognito Mode on Chromebook

Incognito mode isn’t available if the account is a part of Windows 10’s “Family Mode.”

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More
  3. Select New Incognito Window.
  4. A new window will open with a gray incognito icon Incognito mode

Tip: You can also use a keyboard shortcut to open an incognito window. Press Ctrl + Shift + N (Windows, Linux, and Chrome OS) or ⌘ + Shift + N (Mac).

 

How do I get my Chromebook out of incognito mode?

Incognito mode runs in a separate window from your normal Chrome browsing sessions. To exit incognito mode, you’ll need to close all incognito windows.

To close incognito mode, go to the corner of each of your incognito windows and click the X. Then, re-open Chrome. To show all open apps, tap the Android square icon. Swipe left or right on the incognito mode window.

How to Delete Chromebook Browsing History

You have control over your browsing data. This information includes things like your browsing history, saved form entries, and other types of data. You can delete all your data or just some from a specific period of time.

 

Delete your browsing data on Chromebook

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More
  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.
  4. In the box that appears, at the top, choose a time period, such past hour or past day. To delete everything, selectbeginning of time.
  5. Select the types of information you want to remove.
  6. Click Clear browsing data.

If you sync data on multiple devices, deleting it on one device will delete it from all devices the next time they sync. You can choose which data types you want to sync. Saved site settings, like microphone or location permissions, aren’t deleted here. You can delete site settings. Deleting cookies will sign you out of most websites. On mobile, if you’re signed in to Chrome, you won’t be signed out of Google.

 

Downloading Files in Incognito Mode

Chrome won’t save a record of the files you download in Incognito mode. However, the downloaded files will be saved to your computer’s Downloads folder, even after you close your Incognito tabs. You and anyone who uses your computer can see and open the files.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here